Shaky Shaky Eggs And Bakey

Howdy all! *dismounts noble steed and tips huge cowboy-type hat*

I had mentioned a few weeks ago I had gotten a bit of icky news so thought I might go mad and share a bit…

I’ve been getting these ‘shakes’ in my hands since my teens but I always put it down to my penchant for a weekend tipple. It was kind of a running family joke.

As the years passed though they’ve been getting worse so I finally braced myself and headed to the doctors and found out I have something called an Essential Tremor.

When I heard the word ‘Essential’ I wanted to hunt down the Dr McFunnybones PHD who named it and cream pie him right in the face. Though apparently ‘Essential’ means there’s no known cause so I put my cream pie back in the fridge for another victim.

How bad is the tremor you may ask? Here are some things I struggle with (not all the time, it comes and goes as it sees fit):

  • Writing with a pen. This can be a fun one, it starts off well then the biro decides to have a wee boogie across the page. Thank the good Lord for keyboards eh?
  • I cannot for the life of me pick up a shot glass. I always end up chucking it round myself or a fellow patron. A great way to make friends and influence people!
  • It gets worse when I’m nervous. I went for a job interview last summer and my entire upper body started to jig about. How the interviewer kept a straight face, I do not know. Needless to say I didn’t get the job – ha!
  • I used to enjoy making jewellery but have had to retire my pliers for the time being.
  • I can’t carry a cup of coffee on a saucer from the counter to the table without spilling it.

When I got the news I was pretty bummed out. It’ll probably get worse with age and affects my left side the most and of course the Universe loves a laugh…I’m a leftie!

After beating it around in my head for a couple of days I just thought there’s not much point tearing my hair out, so I shall embrace my wobbly ways and learn to live with it! Did you know Katharine Hepburn had a tremor and it never stopped her!

Although my goals to become a professional needle-threader are now down the pan, at least I can explain myself in social situations now instead of folks raising an eyebrow and backing away in a horrified fashion from the bobbling oddball.

Adios my dream career!

I’m lucky enough to have a lot of lovely people around me who like to take the piss. One friend said “if I need open heart surgery I think I’ll give you a miss”. I mean when you have that kind of emotional support, what problem can’t be overcome? Serious though, I find it’s better to have a laugh instead of fretting. On that note:

Some Benefits Of Having A Tremor:

  1. It’s called ET, so I can now say “I have ET” as a conversation starter, beat that Spielberg!
  2. It will most definitely assist me in my dream of becoming a pogo master.
  3. When I bring my daughter swimming, she’ll have her own personal wave machine.
  4. My potato mashing skills can only improve.
  5. If I really don’t like someone I can just drink loads of coffee and let the games begin!

Phone home….

I hope this little post will maybe help someone else with the same nuisance ailment. Until a few weeks ago I knew nothing about it, even though I’d been living with it for years.

Onwards and upwards though, worse things could happen so in my usual fashion I will roll with the punches!

Einstein – another leftie!

Published by

An Irish Procrastinator

Penitent. Irish. Faffer.

18 thoughts on “Shaky Shaky Eggs And Bakey”

  1. Oh no! Poor you! I suppose at least it’s nothing worse? Was your writing honestly any good to begin with? As a fellow lefty my handwriting is often almost illegible due to being smeared by my hand afterwards as I continue across the page. What a minion children for if not to be trained in threading needles for you, their overlord?!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m a leftie too, all the best people are!
    On a plus note, you’re not going to die of it
    That being said don’t suddenly start sticking things in electric sockets. No one would know if you were getting shocked or not. You could have a new career salting the fries in MacDonald’s but I’m thinking assassin myself. I could put you in my ex’s vicinity (after taking out a huge life insurance policy of course) with a knife and stabbity, stabbity, stab, stab, stab – and the perfect alibi! We could split the money and live the high life 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh no, poor you. At least it’s nothing serious though. And you have the perfect excuse to get people to wait on you… sorry, I can’t make my own cuppa. I might scald myself with all that boiling water!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Believe me, you won’t get away with that for long, the sympathy will start to wear thin after a while. I know to my cost. I’ve been lucky enough to enjoy good health since I was an adult and my only problem was last November when I broke my wrist and a bone in my hand – on day 3 of our 2 week holiday. I spent the rest of our trip in plaster with the rest of the group dancing round me, tying my laces and my husband was wonderful. He was attentive, sympathetic and all that I could have wanted… till we got home. When it was just him looking after me out of the glare of the public (and I really wasn’t troublesome and did everything myself I possibly could), the novelty wore off. I am unfortunately a lowly right-hander and broke my right wrist, so could not cook. My husband has never cooked and was very unhappy at having to start. I hope you don’t find the same happens to you.

    You have my real sympathy, but it must be some sort of comfort (possibly a two-edged sword? ) to know you have a recognised medical condition that is not of your making. Perhaps you should put it on your next job application form in the disability section (especially if applying to the civil service, though after a life-long career working for them I shouldn’t advise it), then you are almost guaranteed a job as they will be too afraid you will sue for disabily discrimination of they don’t give it to you. You might as well make it work for you…

    [I don’t sympathise with you over your writing – some of us right-handers have never been able to write neatly and have had to endure the cruel comments of our children, especially C with a C taking delight in describing mine as a snake after a comment by her (?) school tracher…. and don;t feel sorry for her either, her writing is beautiful and very neat. I odn;t know how she manages it.]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly I wonder a bit about how it will develop but I’m not a fan of worrying so try not to dwell on it too much.
      I broke my own wrist when my daughter was only a few months old and like yourself, away from the public eye, I found myself with no help (ever tried changing a nappy with one hand? Messy. Very messy). When I asked a family member for help they asked me what the problem was…*sigh* so I thoroughly sympathise with your own injury. I took the bloody cast off in the end and thankfully it mended itself.
      Im an independent sort anyway so would have went mad if I had to wait for it to heal. With regards to the tremor, I shall leave it in the hands of the fates and hope for the best! Worse things could happen, I just have to stay away from soup and make sure I always have a supply of straws in my handbag. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I admire your attitude, it’s the best way to be. Yes, I have had to change nappies with one hand – when Chomeuse with a Chou was 3 months old and I was on maternity leave, I decided to make hawthorn jelly (as you do… one of my hobbies is jam, marmalade and jelly making). I was trying to do it in a hurry as she was not the easiest of babies and managed to drop the wooden spoon out of the pan and caught it with my right hand. The jelly was boiling and my whole palm blistered up, it was excruciatingly painful. I had to ring my husband to get him to come home from work as I couldn’t look after the baby. The next day I just had to get on with it and do stuff left-handed. I don’t recommend you make jam, it can be a dangerous business… [I shall stop complaining about my wrist, at least I didn’t have to worry about anyone other than myself.]

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, I’m speechless. You took something that would mentally-defeat most people and turned into something to be proud of. You continue to inspire me, I swear.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment