Word Prompt: Constant

The boss was otherwise engaged this evening (my daughter has a better social calendar than I could ever hope for) so I took myself for a toddle around town and what a lovely evening it was! I plonked myself at the city hall and caught up on my fellow bloggers.

I know there’s umpteen thousand articles out there about self care but I read a post at https://jessikagouws.wordpress.com/2018/02/20/a-reminder-things-to-start-doing-2/ which put a little bounce in my step.

It’s my experience that cliches are cliches because they’re true, and the phrase “be kind to yourself” is no exception. I have a terrible habit of overthinking things and on occasion, spend too much time on people and situations that really don’t do my head much good, but thankfully it’s a habit I’m slowly growing out of.

I supposed I just wanted to say that becoming the person you hope to be doesn’t just happen overnight, for me anyway. It takes a constant effort. Every time that yucky seed of self-doubt starts to sprout I have to mentally take my ‘bad thought weed-whacker’ (patent pending) and kill it. The nice thing is that when you do it enough, you begin to only hear the good things in your head.

It’s true that if you do something enough it sticks. I’ve learned that instead of listening to that negative voice making noises in my head, I can just put my fingers in my ears and sing “la la la” until it gets bored and goes away. And just like that – ta da! – only the good stuff is left.

Like I said it takes constant daily effort, I ain’t no Pollyanna 24/7 and have my off days same as the rest of the world. However, even though there’s much I can’t change in life, I can always change myself, which is a comforting thought to me.

On that note I’ll leave you with some words from Bruce Springsteen:

Published by

An Irish Procrastinator

Penitent. Irish. Faffer.

7 thoughts on “Word Prompt: Constant”

  1. When you’ve got the patent please could you reserve me one ‘bad thought weed whacker’ pretty please? 😉 I’d love to be able to follow your advice, but the bad thoughts are so much louder and persistant than the good ones. Great post, as always 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment